The Sounds of Now: Arctic Melt

Keep your finger on the musical pulse. The Sounds of Now spotlights standout tracks that excite us here at KHOL. These songs are featured weekdays between 9 a.m. to 2 p.m.

by | Mar 8, 2022 | New Music, Sounds of Now

Bonobo feat. O’Flynn – “Otomo” (Dance/Electronic)

British-born Bonobo aka Simon Green triumphantly returns with his latest full-length LP, “Fragments,” on Ninja Tune Records, after building momentum with a few singles near the end of 2021. Born out of fragments of ideas and experimentation in his Los Angeles studio over the past two years, the album acts as a cohesive and well-thought-out statement of simultaneously epic and nuanced proportions enhanced by collaboration. “Otomo,” featuring production help from label mate and fellow Englishman O’Flynn, utilizes a Bulgarian choir, a pounding breakbeat and some serious bass drops to transport the listener directly inside a world of surging energy.

ODESZA – “The Last Goodbye” (Dance/Electronic)

ODESZA return with their first new music in nearly four years with “The Last Goodbye,” featuring blues and soul singer Bettye LaVette. The Grammy-nominated electronic duo sampled the vocal from LaVette’s 1965 song “Let Me Down Easy,” deconstructing and rebuilding it into a true tour de force that will have you bouncing around the room in no time. The sweeping and soulful track effectively modernizes the original source material while keeping the emotional integrity of the vocal intact.

DLO3 – “Get Da Steppin'” (Funk/Soul/Jazz)

Seattle’s Delvon Lamarr Organ Trio return with a new album, “Cold As Weiss,” named after their now-permanent drummer Dan Weiss. With the band members locked in, the album is filled with raw and funky musicianship overflowing with passion and grit. KHOL had the chance to interview and catch the band live at Treefort Music Festival last year, and we can’t recommend their live show enough. “Get Da Steppin” is a prime example of what to expect from a DLO3 performance, with band leader Delvon Lamarr ripping on the Hammond B3 organ, guitarist Jimmy James shredding the funk and drummer Weiss holding down the pocket like a champ. Do yourself a favor and make checking out DLO3 a priority.

Robert Glasper – “Shine”  (Soul/Jazz/Hip Hop)

With a star-studded list of features, “Black Radio III” continues pianist Robert Glasper’s celebration of Black talent with enlightened, undefinable music with jazz at its center. “Shine” features rapper D Smoke and his cousin, singer Tiffany Gouche, floating over top a warm and soulful track that sounds and feels like a loving embrace.


Animal Collective – “Walker” (Psych/Rock)

The psychedelic rock group out of Baltimore, Maryland, is back with a new album, “Time Skiffs,” possibly their best effort since 2009’s modern classic “Merriweather Post Pavilion.” “Walker” is a playful piece of weirdo pop with a looping beat, accessible hooks and ethereal harmonies reminiscent of The Beach Boys. There are a lot of familiar elements you’ve come to expect from the group but when presented in their unique way still sound fresh and exciting.

alt-J – “U & ME” (Indie Rock/Pop)

Cambridge-based indie rock trio alt-J attempt to provide a soundtrack to the stories, traumas and inspirations of its members on their latest album, “The Dream.” Lead single “U&ME” is a shuffling and methodical psychedelic 90’s-tinged number about “being at a festival with your best friends, having a good time, togetherness, and the feeling in life that nothing could be any better than it is right now,” according to the band.

The Afghan Whigs – “I’ll Make You See God” (Rock)

After a five-year hiatus, and even longer if you haven’t been paying attention, The Afghan Whigs are back with their new single, “I’ll Make You See God.” Bandleader Greg Dulli describes the song as “one of the hardest rock songs we’ve ever done” and that “it was written and performed on sheer adrenaline.” Crank it up to 11 and rock out.

Confidence Man – “Holiday (Bruise Remix)” (Dance/Electronic)

Sometimes you just need to let all your stresses drift out of your mind and let it all out on the dance floor. “Holiday” is the euphoric lead single to Australian Electro-Pop duo Confidence Man’s upcoming new album “Tilt.” For their remix, London-based Bruise whip up a piece of bass-heavy dreamy house music that will have you floating in the club. The upcoming album release promises to be an escape you might not know you needed but certainly won’t regret.

Los Bitchos – “The Link Is About To Die” (Groove/Pscyh/World)

With instrumental soundscapes brimming with swagger and heat, the all-female group Los Bitchos are here to get the party started. Their eclectic sound combines elements from Peruvian chicha, Argentine cumbia, Turkish psych and good ol’ American surf guitars. The opening track of their debut album, “Let The Festivities Begin!,” is an intoxicating groove filled with tight percussion and loose morals. “The Link Is About To Die” is a bright, energetic blend of cumbia, psychedelia and garage rock: like Khruangbin but more danceable.

Dowdelin – “Simé Love” (Funk/Pop/World)


Lyon-based group Dowdelin’s second album, “Lanmou Lanmou,” stirs up an enticing concoction of unexpected combinations in sound, texture and geographical origins. It’s a type of music almost impossible to classify but that obviously owes a lot to the Caribbean. The poppy lead single “Sime Love” features breathtaking piano riffs, Creole-sung lyrics and an irresistible groove perfect for the upcoming snowmelt.

Want More Stories Like This?

Donate any amount to support independent media in the Tetons.

KHOL 89.1 Jackson Hole Community Radio Membership Support Ad

About Jack Catlin

Jack is KHOL's music director. He says all music is in some way connected no matter the style and his mission is to provide listeners with a unique and memorable experience each time they tune in to KHOL or see him DJ live.

Related Stories

Pin It on Pinterest