This Week’s New Music: 2020 is Cookin’

2020 is already shaping up to be a robust year for music. From electronic and hip-hop to jazz and blues, artists are delivering the January goods. Recently I’ve been listening […]

by | Jan 28, 2020 | New Music

2020 is already shaping up to be a robust year for music. From electronic and hip-hop to jazz and blues, artists are delivering the January goods.

Recently I’ve been listening to Elliot Moss’ new album, “A Change in Diet.” Moss’ sound is reminiscent of London producer and singer James Blake. Both artists couple minimalistic, downtempo electronica with their soothing, melancholic vocals.

Change and upheaval dominate the album, a fitting prelude for the new year.

“A change in diet is one of the first things any self-help resource or therapist will recommend to you,” Moss said in a press release. “The title is almost a joke because it feels like a crazy oversimplification of your problem. But at the same time, it’s not wrong.” 

Just one week before Moss’ release, Alexandra Savior also dropped a new album: “The Archer.” It’s centered on transformation. She told 30th Century Records that she wrote one of the songs for the album just after midnight on New Year’s Eve when she was working through the emotions of a break-up. The album explores both the highs and lows of life shifts. 

I’ve also been cranking the volume to a few exceptional new rap albums: “Heavy is the Head” by Stormzy; “The Circus” by Mick Jenkins; and Eminem’s surprise release “Music to be Murdered by.” The album features a track with the late rapper Juice WRLD and the verses are fast and articulate. To that end, the album reminds listeners of Eminem’s knack for swift lyrical flows, a centerpiece of his earlier albums. 

The last album to highlight this week is “Stay Good,” Brooklyn Funk Essentials’ sixth studio release. This groovy album mixes R&B, soul, Latin and electric funk. 

We also have new singles from TOKiMONSTA and EARTHGANG, King Krule, Thundercat and Thievery Corporation, to name a few.  

Jazz and Blues Albums 

Warren Wolf – “Reincarnation” 
Yelena Eckemoff – “Nocturnal Animals”


Gil Scott-Heron & Makaya McCraven – “Where Did the Night Go”
Izo FitzRoy – “Blind Faith”
King Krule – “(Don’t Let the Dragon) Draag On”
Moses Sumney – “Me In 20 Years”
St Francis Hotel – “Milkshake”
Thievery Corporation – “Lebanese Blonde”
Thundercat – “Black Qualls (feat. Steve Lacy and Steve Arrington)”
TOKiMONSTA – “Fried For The Night (feat. EARTHGANG)”
U.S. Girls – “Overtime”
Umphrey’s McGee – “Suxity”
Wild Nothing – “Foyer”


Alexandra Savior – “The Archer” (30th Century Records)
Recommended Tracks: No. 2, 3, 4   
RIYL: Karen O & Danger Mouse, Lana Del Rey, Sam Cohen, Aldous Harding, Fiona Apple, Cate Le Bon, Regina Spektor, Samia

Anti-Flag – “20/20 Vision” (Spinefarm)
Recommended Tracks: No. 4, 7, 1
RIYL: Propagandhi, GBH, Rancid, Pennywise, Western Addiction, Bad Religion

Brooklyn Funk Essentials – “Stay Good” (Dorado Records)
Recommended Tracks: No. 4, 7, 12, 3
RIYL: Tuxedo, Sharon Jones & The Dap Kings, Chromeo, Antibalas, Kraak & Smaak

dj poolboi – “Forever Yours EP”  (Self-Released)
Recommended Tracks: No. 2, 3, 8
RIYL: Ross From Friends, DJ Boring, Jamie XX

Elliot Moss – “A Change In Diet” (Grand Jury)
Recommended Tracks: No. 3, 1, 9   
RIYL: Bon Iver, James Blake, Thom Yorke, Volcano Choir, A.A. Bondy, Noah Gundersen

Georgia – “Seeking Thrills” (Domino)
Recommended Tracks: No. 3, 4, 1
RIYL: Nilüfer Yanya, Empress Of, Billie Eilish, Let’s Eat Grandma, Amber Mark

Holy Fuck – “Deleter” (Last Gang Records)
Recommended Tracks: No. 1, 2, 4, 9 
RIYL: LIARS, Black Moth Super Rainbow, Hot Chip

Lane 8 – “Brightest Lights” (This Never Happened)
Recommended Tracks: No. 4, 12, 10, 8 
RIYL: Bonobo, Rufus Du Sol, ODESZA, Disclosure, Moon Boots

Marcus King – “El Dorado” (Fantasy/Concord)
Recommended Tracks: No. 2, 3, 8, 9
RIYL: The Black Keys, The Raconteurs, Death Cab For Cutie, Wilco

Stormzy – “Heavy Is the Head” (Atlantic)
Recommended Tracks: No. 16, 11, 3, 12
RIYL: Giggs, Skepta, Bugzy Malone, MoStack

WAAX – “Big Grief” (Dew Process)
Recommended Tracks: No. 5, 3, 1, 10
RIYL: White Lung, Screaming Females, Bully, Camp Cope, Ali Barter, Mannequin Pussy, Alex Lahey, Mourn, Sleater Kinney

Want More Stories Like This?

Donate any amount to support independent media in the Tetons.

KHOL 89.1 Jackson Hole Community Radio Membership Support Ad

About Erin McGibbon

Related Stories

Pin It on Pinterest