Election Results: Democrats sweep Teton County elections; all SPET measures pass

Despite high GOP spending, Democrats continue to dominate in Teton County. Plus, voters put $160 million toward SPET measures.
Teton County voters lined up at polling places, such as the Teton County Library, to cast their ballots on Election Day. (Hanna Merzbach/KHOL News)


Election results are in for Teton County, and Democrats kept their hold in races for the state legislature and county commission. This comes despite record Republican spending and an increased interest in flipping seats in the left-leaning county.

The two Democratic incumbents on the Teton County Board of Commissioners — Luther Probst and Mark Newcomb — held onto their seats. Democrat Wes Gardner now also joins the roster of county commissioners. 

“I just want people to know that they have someone they can trust representing them because that’s why I ran, because I felt like I wanted somebody I could trust representing me,” Gardner said at the Teton Democratic Party at the Virginian Lodge.

On the town council, incumbents Arne Jorgensen and Jonathan Schechter will also keep their seats. While Jorgensen won by a large margin, Schechter’s win was a close one. Devon Viehman trailed Schechter by just under 200 votes. Kat Rueckert trailed another 600 votes behind that. 


Rueckert said at the Teton GOP watch party that she still plans to stay involved in town politics.

“Nothing much has changed other than instead of maybe being behind the desk and speaking into a microphone at the town council meeting, I’ll be behind the podium at public comment speaking into a microphone,” Rueckert said.

Teton County will also continue to send Democrats to the Wyoming state legislature. Democratic state legislators from Teton County, Mike Yin and Mike Gierau, held onto their seats.

Cheyenne will also see a new representative: Democrat Liz Storer narrowly beat Republican Paul Vogelheim in the race for House District 23. This comes despite Vogelheim’s record spending and support from Republicans around the state.

Storer attributes her win to her clear stance on issues such as reproductive rights. 

“I’d like to think that I also spoke to the importance of Teton County really weighing in with its own values, and because it’s sending so much money to Cheyenne, that we need a seat at the table,” Storer added in a Zoom call after her race was called. 

In a statement to KHOL, Vogelheim said he was saddened by the results, but wishes Storer success in Cheyenne.

“I am so grateful for the bi-partisan votes of support, the amazing new friendships and to live in our spectacular community,” Vogelheim wrote. “I am thankful for so many who opened their doors and trusted to share their stories and fears.”

Vogelheim said he’ll continue to work on board and committees in Teton County.

Additionally, Teton County residents voted in favor of all projects funded through the Specific Purpose Excise Tax, or SPET. Over $160 million will go toward infrastructure projects — the most the county has ever funded at one time through SPET.

Voters passed employee housing for the town, county, school district and hospital, along with broader community housing. The closest margin was for a measure that will make Jackson more accessible for pedestrians, though the project will ultimately be funded.

All Teton County election results are available below.

Jackson Town Council (Non-Partisan Race)

  • Devon Viehman: 1,638
  • Arne Olaus Jorgensen: 2,254
  • Jonathan Schechter: 1,831
  • Katherine “Kat” Rueckert: 1,003

Teton County Board of Commissioners

  • Luther Propst (D): 5,099
  • Mark Newcomb (D): 5,440
  • Peter Long (R): 4,016
  • Kasey Mateosky (R): 2,993
  • Tom Segerstrom (R): 3,556
  • Brenden F. Cronin (I): 1,038
  • Wes Gardner (D): 4,946

House District 16

  • Mike Yin (D): 2,477
  • Jim McCollum (R): 869

House District 22 (**At the time of reporting, this race has yet to be called.)

  • Andrew Byron (R): 873 (1,362 from Lincoln County)
  • Bob Strobel (I): 938 (742 from Lincoln County)

House District 23

  • Liz Storer (D): 2,489
  • Paul Vogelheim (R): 2,326

Senate District 17

  • Mike Gierau (D): 5,142
  • Steve Duerr (R): 2,615
  • Amanda Padilla (L): 421

Teton Conservation District

  • Bob Lucas: 4,215
  • Steve McDonald: 2,486
  • Cate Watsabaugh: 5,086
  • David C. Adams: 3,336

Teton County School Board

  • Jon Baker: 1,827 
  • Reade Dornan: 3,981 
  • Keith Gingery: 4,365 
  • Emily Reycroft: 2,772
  • Thomas A. Smits: 1,928
  • Tyrel Wray: 875 
  • Stephan Abrams: 3,608

St. John’s Hospital Board

  • Shanon A. Brennan: 1,894 
  • Katharine Conover-Keller: 4,407
  • Pam Cutler: 3,481 
  • Lou Houchheiser: 3,512
  • Evan Jones: 2,401
  • Tim Rieser: 1,392
  • Michael L. Tennican: 2,708
  • Brent “Doc” Blue: 3,618 

Special Purpose Excise Tax (SPET)

  • #1 Teton County Employee Housing: PASSED
  • #2 Teton Youth & Family Services Facility Improvements: PASSED
  • #3 Transportation Alternatives & Safe Routes to School: PASSED
  • #4 Jackson Hole Fire/EMS Fire Station: PASSED
  • #5 Central Wyoming College Campus: PASSED
  • #6 St. John’s Health Housing: PASSED
  • #7 Town of Jackson Sidewalks & Pedestrian Accessibility: PASSED
  • #8 Town of Jackson Employee Housing: PASSED
  • #9 Teton County Land Conservation Opportunities: PASSED
  • #10 Teton County School District Bronc Achievement Center: PASSED
  • #11 Energy Conservation Works Projects: PASSED
  • #12 Community Housing: PASSED
  • #13 Senior Center of Jackson Hole Senior Assisted Living Planning: PASSED
  • #14 Teton County School District Employee Housing: PASSED
  • #15 Teton County Water Quality Projects: PASSED

Want More Stories Like This?

Donate any amount to support independent media in the Tetons.

KHOL 89.1 Jackson Hole Community Radio Membership Support Ad

About Hanna Merzbach

Hanna is KHOL's senior reporter and managing editor. A lot of her work focuses on housing and local politics, but also women's health — and whatever else she finds interesting. You can hear her reporting around the country and region on NPR, Wyoming Public Radio and community radio stations around the west. She hails from Bend, Oregon, where she reported for outlets such as the Atlantic, High Country News and Oregon Public Broadcasting. In her free time, you can find Hanna scaling rock walls or adventuring in the mountains.

Related Stories

Pin It on Pinterest